Chelsea’s new faces on display against West Ham?

So we’re playing West-ham tomorrow, and I have to say I’m very excited about this game. I’m excited because due to Lampard’s unavailability, Carlo will be forced to make changes to the squad tomorrow. I know … I know .. it’s kinda wrong to be happy that Lamps is missing out, but I know he is not seriously injured, and I really want to see some of the new players get on the field!
Carlo already confirmed that Lamps will sit out for this game and Terry will be back in the team, so I anticipate only one change to the starting lineup. I think Benayoun will come in for Lamps. He is the most creative option with Frank being out. Of course Carlo could also play Malouda as left midfielder and push Kalou up as left winger, but I think he will give Benayoun a rare chance to start the game tomorrow.

The other exciting news is that Kakuta is likely to play at some point tomorrow, and I’m even more pumped about that! I followed the u-21 European championships and 2 players stood out to me: Kakuta and Canales. Canales has gone from there to walk straight into Madrid’s A team after impressing the special one. I hope Kakuta can have similar fate, and though he will surely not be a starter for Chelsea this season, I really hope to see more of him from now on. It certainly reassured me to read this from Ancelotti about the youngster today on Chelsea’s website:
“He will be involved tomorrow in the game. Now he is first team, he will have the same opportunity as the other players and he deserves to play because he trained well, he is focused and concentrated,’ explained the Italian. ‘He will play and we now have to consider him not a young player but a player in the first team.”
It’s time to get him involved with the premier league, and be a little less protective of him. Kakuta is about the same age (I actually think a bit older) than Canales, and Jack Wilshere, and just a year younger than Thomas Muller. All these players’ development has been more rapid than his, I think because they were entrusted in the A team quicker than him. Well, tomorrow he will get a chance and I’m really excited about seeing him more often with the first squad!
Finally, we might also see a little more of Ramires. The Brazilian only came in the last game with 7 mn to go, so couldn’t really get a feel for him. I hope to see a bit more of him this week. Ideally, I think Carlo will start with the same squad as last game, except Benayoun filling in for Lamps. I think he will then replace Essien with Ramires at some point in second half as well as Kakuta coming in for Benayoun and Kalou for Anelka. Let’s see how things play out. Go Blues !

Leave a Reply

